25 Best Songs of ONE OK ROCK

Want to hear something awesome today? 🙂

Then allow me introduce you to *drum roll*

OOR2

(c) XXTaniaMoritaXX / deviantart

WHOOOO! 🙂

Who are these people?

In 2005, One Ok Rock (OOR), a Japanese rock band composed of Takahiro ‘Taka’ Moriuchi (vocalist), Toru Yamashita (guitarist), Ryota Kohama (bassist), and Tomoya Kanki (drummer), was formed. ❤

What’s with their band name?

In their earlier days, they would do their rehearsals at one o’clock in the morning since studio rentals during that hour was way cheaper. And since there isn’t really much of a distinction between Japanese ‘l’ and ‘r’, one o’clock is pronounced as one o’crock or one o’krock until this became their name, and eventually evolved into One Ok Rock.

What sets OOR apart from other bands?

What makes them unique is their passion in creating their own kind of rock.  You will notice later on that most of their songs, if not all, tell a message or a story. In short, their songs have ‘substance’.  More so, Taka’s vocals, Toru’s riffs, Ryota’s strums, and Tomoya’s hits just have so much heart into it, especially when performing live. They’re not just amazing because of their talents, but they are also surprisingly inspiring.

Why am  I writing this blog entry?

Okay. I originally wanted to keep OOR to myself. Honestly. When I ask people if they know OOR, I beam with pride and happiness knowing that I’m the only one who knows them and ergo, I’m the only one who can enjoy their awesomeness. Well, yeah, not all people may be that interested to J-rock genre anyway. To tell you the truth, I’m not into it either. Sure, I hear some opening and ending theme song from animes with good rock in it. But I didn’t really consider it as something that I will listen to most of the time. But that was everything before OOR came into my life. 🙂 It was just purely by chance that I’ve discovered this band. And ever since that day, I’ve been a fan. 🙂 ❤ So yeah, I was so into OOR. I was so hyped up until later on, I cannot contain it anymore so I’d share them to friends. But then, I end up getting disappointed since they can’t relate, at all. And it’s frustrating.  How come people do not know of this band? Their music makes more sense than mainstream pop I see in Billboard Hot 100. So I’ve decided that, as a fan, I pretty much have to do something. And that’s where this entry comes in. It’s all about spreading OOR awesomeness! Hahaha. 🙂 Through my own little ways, I have to make them known, especially now that they have reached the Western rock scene with their US debut album, 35xxxv, under Warner Music. Well, I think that’s the least I can do as a fan. 🙂

So, to make things easier for you, I took the time to listen to all of their albums and picked their best songs, based from my own personal reasons, haha. 🙂 Well, mostly what gets me to listen to certain music is mainly these 3 criteria: appeal, melody and most importantly, lyrics. Actually, I cannot think of a single song that I do not like from them. And it was so hard ranking the songs. I have to make certain revisions once I hear this song or that song. But then again, we might have different preferences from their album or song interpretations, but nah, still, it is OOR that will bind us all. ❤

But before that, here are my  6 tips for you,  how-to-be-a-OneOkRocker, haha!:

1

If you’re new to this J-rock or alternative rock genre, don’t listen to all of these songs at once. You won’t get to appreciate the song itself. Listen to 2 to 3 songs a day, then the next day, another 3. Or else, you’ll get fed up soon. It took me quite a while before I’ve come to like their earlier songs. At first, I found them too loud, or too messed up that I dropped listening to them one time. But once you get a feel of their vibe, you’ll probably tell me that their music is something that you have been looking for or maybe I’m just OA, you judge.

2

But, if you are really into bands like Fall Out Boy, Good Charlotte, or Linkin’ Park, then, by all means, feel free to listen to all of their songs. 🙂

3

Listen to the official music video or the one without any subs first, then the one with English translation. Don’t worry, for your convenience, I already placed the links per song I’ve included in the list. You will be surprised with the meaning of the songs. I myself was. Totally! I didn’t initially realize that’s what the song was about. You might think it’s just nonsense but later on you’ll find out that they’re already talking about deep stuff, things that will make you reflect, those sorts. You’ll love them all the more! ❤

4

Use ear phones or head phones first so you can listen closely to every aspect of the song. Be careful to modulate the song, or else, it might hurt your eardrums. Later on, I guarantee you, you will be using your speakers with its maximum volume. Hahaha! 🙂

5

If you are currently doing something important and you happen to chance upon this entry of mine, set this aside for the mean time. Listening to OOR while there are urgent matters to be addressed as of the moment may seem chaotic. Or the other way around, you may also get pumped up. It’s actually your call. And it entirely depends on your mood. Haha. If you’re up to something awesome for today, by all means, go ahead. OOR will not disappoint.

6

Lastly, read my brief description of  the band members, just so you are properly oriented. 🙂

  • Taka has a wide range of vocals. Either powerful screamos or romantic ballads, he can deliver flawlessly. Superb vocal control! He does cool random moves with his signature red mic and nice hands. 🙂 And, yes, he’s fond of jumping. That’s why he always has this platform on the stage where he can jump in every concert. And mind you, that’s not just a simple high jump, but something as  flexible as this one:
12145480_1675447232702871_1265521133_n

(c) photo_sami

One of the many reasons that got me so into this band is the fact that Taka relatively speaks good English, as compared to other J-rock bands. There is really something in his voice that will move you, in one way or another. He also has an oozing stage presence and is good in commanding the audience when performing. He is also the composer of most OOR songs. In their group, he’s the one who usually cracks a joke and teases people.

  • Although Taka may appear to be the leader of this group, he’s not. It is Toru actually, the one who looks serious and quiet. He’s considered to be the father of OOR since he’s the one who urged the other members to join. I personally label him as the ‘clean one’, since he’s the only one who does not have any tattoos, unlike the other 3. Why? Because he’s afraid of needles.
  • If you happen to see a shirtless guy with star tattoos on his upper chest, that’s Ryota. He’s a funny guy and does crazy stuff especially when he’s drunk, hahaha.:) He may look old but he’s actually the youngest in the group. And most importantly, he loves dogs so much. ❤
  • Always smiling and cheerful in the group would be Tomoya. I personally consider this guy as the best drummer I’ve ever known. Most of the time, Taka and Ryota makes fun of this guy. But hey, he’s the eldest among them.
OOR4

From youngest to eldest. 🙂 Source: http://www.fanpop.com

  • Through the years, these 4 have become friends to each other. They do crazy stuff together and enjoys each other’s company.

Okay.

I think you’re set. 🙂

So my friend, here are OOR’s 25 best songs to date:

25. Decision

Album: 35xxxv (Standard Edition) 

Year: 2015

I can hear Simple Plan in this song, somewhere in the chorus. Seeing this song, I have noticed that Taka’s English has improved quite a lot. Full-English version of this song features Tyler Carter (Issues) in it. Then again, I love the Japanese version more. 🙂

Links:

Fool Cool Rock:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yM-8Ku2S_Cs

Yokohama Stadium Concert:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4sEvo4ojq8

24. Answer is Near

Album: Zankyo Reference

Year: 2011

I didn’t like this song at first. But after giving it a few tries, I realized it’s a good one. This song, from the way I understand it, is about finding answers in life. It sort of reminds us that in making decisions, the answer will always be found inside us, whatever it is that our hearts are telling us.  Deep huh?

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlmhKXA77ro

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJptQ-pCp10

23. Yume Yume ~ Yume Yume

Album: Zeitakubyou

Year: 2007

OOR was still a 5-member band here; they still have Alex Onizawa (American guy) with them. If I remember correctly, Alex faced charges of sexual harassment (i.e. for groping a woman’s leg, I think) in a public transportation before. Of course, it gives a tainted image for the whole group which was starting to rise then. It was painful for the band, but then they had decided to continue without him later on. But listening to it, it sounds totally on a whole new level when there are rhythm and lead guitarists in the band. I especially like the guitar riffs in this song, and of course, Toru’s rapping. 🙂 This is the second song I’ve heard that shows his rapping skills. And oh Baby Taka looks chubby here. 🙂 This song’s about being persistent in reaching for your dreams. Yume is the Japanese word for dream. Second chorus says,

“There’s no point in hurrying if right now is impossible,

But we’ve got awesome power, so take it and go…

Please don’t say expressions like ‘This is all I am’

Not yet! Not yet!”

Links:

No official music video

Concert I don’t know where:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gj7pmLoAptw

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BB1IGqNvaBs

22. Let’s Take It Someday

Album: Zankyo Reference

Year: 2011

This song is about chasing your dreams, claiming with a strong conviction that you would do your best to make that dream a reality. That’s why the title says ‘Let’s take it someday’. It invites us to keep on pursuing that dream that we have always wanted. In this video of their concert at Yokohama Arena, Taka made a short speech before performing this song, and I quote,

“Please don’t forget this, we (OOR) and you are the same – humans that are still chasing their dreams. We are still in the middle of ours. So, I hope and want to chase after our own dreams. That’s why we keep trying our best every day. Please, as companions, take care of us, One Ok Rock.”

Seeing this made me love them all the more. Also, I just love how he commands everyone to jump. So awesome! ❤

Links:

No official music video

English translation (Yokohama Arena Concert):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oCby9f31AY

21. Notes’n’Words

Album: The Beginning [Single]

Year: 2012

This is just a sweet love song! ❤  The way I interpret it, guy appreciates the love he receives from the girl. And so, he expresses this through notes and words, hoping that this would reach the girl and eventually let her know how he feels towards her.

“I wanna sing ‘cause every single notes and words, it’s all for you

Hope it’s enough

I wanna tell you and this is the only way I know

And hope one day you’ll learn the words and say

That you finally see, how I feel”

Link:

No official music video

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jwtKU9oA534

20. Wherever You Are

Album: Niche Syndrome

Year: 2010

Hearing this love song paints an image of a wedding or marriage in my mind. This is about promising forever to someone you love, wherever he or she might be. See, just like wedding vows. Hahaha. 🙂 I like the meaning of this song, especially that bridge which goes,

“For us, the day we should celebrate the most

Is the one we first met

So, the second day we should celebrate the most

Is the one we call ‘today’”

Link:

No official music video

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aOjpBKNlkzU

 

19. Mr. Gendai Speaker

Album: Zankyo Reference

Year: 2011

This song starts off pretty suave, well, for me.  It’s about asking the modern (gendai) speaker about the present reality. The man’s probably depressed on what’s happening with his life.  As it says,

“Nobody can find me here

This is my secret (I initially thought it was sacred) place no one knows, and no one will

But I feel like losing senses. I’m in this corner here alone”

This kind of reminded me of those emo rock songs then.

Link:

No official music video

English Subs:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvZnO8kQbpQ

18. Pierce

Album: Zankyo Reference

Year: 2011

Seriously, with its title, I thought it’s going to be something punk like Liar or No Scared, but I was so wrong. I was totally surprised to know that it’s a ballad. Taka’s piano playing, the quartet and how the rest enters later on. Arrrgh. ❤  And it will hit you to the core. Haha. #Hugot. It’s a sad song about impossible love. Story is, you love someone. You thought of confessing, but you can’t man up to do so. So you try not to bother yourself doing that because deep inside you, you know it will never happen. You ‘two’ will never be together. And it hurts because you now try to forget that person, but you just simply can’t. Huhuhu. 😦  I love the lyrics of this song, it says,

“It’s hard for me to say

Coz we, we can see how, it’s gonna end

But I got my love for you

I want you to know what the truth is

But sometimes it makes me feel so sick

I just can’t say to you

No, I won’t”

Link:

No official music video

English translation (Yokohama Arena Concert):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgbvcfo59NA

 

17. Cry Out

Album: 35xxxv (Standard Edition)

Year: 2015

This song reminds me of Answer is Near with all its ‘ohs’ in the beginning. For me, the Japanese and the full English version of this song are both nice. Either way, I can tolerate listening to it, which is rare, since I usually prefer the one with Japanese lyrics. This song will definitely make you sing the ‘ohs’ and ‘yeahs’ later on. Haha. This has some screamos, but I think fits the song. At 2:54 of the full-English version’s music video, that part was really awesome. 🙂

“So we say want the change and never be the same.”

Links:

Official music video (Japanese):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWSRqWpWPzE

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOrJm8Wmfyc

Official music video (Full English):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTptXnxQotw

16. Kanzen Kankaku Dreamer

Album: Niche Syndrome

Year: 2010

This song will make a good anime opening theme. Although I find this a bit messed up at first, since the percussions seem to be too loud in the beginning and in the chorus. But nah, I’ve grown to love it later on. Kanzen kankaku dreamer means ‘total immersion dreamer’. Translation looks pretty weird, but you get it, it’s like chasing your dreams to the fullest. That’s what the song is about.

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NWDAjOsTYC8

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNZkVmjovqs

15. Suddenly

Album: 35xxxv (Standard Edition)

Year: 2015

Suddenly reminds me of their songs from their earlier albums. Those riffs and patterns, definitely from OOR. I think the theme of this song is about breaking free or letting go, may it be in relationships or in coming to terms with yourself.

“Then suddenly, I’m breaking past the lies

It’s something magical, we oughta say a lullaby

Into the pain I go, say our last goodbye”

Link:

No official music video

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOB4zHufQSE

14. The Way Back (Japanese Version)

Album: 35xxxv (Deluxe Edition)

Year: 2015

This is my favorite song from the deluxe edition of their recent album, 35xxxv. I checked the lyrics, the chorus says, “You know the way back.” But from what I hear, it’s like, “You know the way AIN’T back.” I think my version fits the song more since the story is about not letting someone back in your life. Haha! 🙂 Awesome guitar riffs and drum patterns as always. And you can also see how their looks have changed. They’ve somewhat become more sleek and mature, especially Taka with his hair now. Anyhow, Taka’s move at 1:10 of the official music video is just so cuuuute. 🙂

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2dFMNPA9jQ

English Translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lxie2LWXDco

13. 69 (Rock)

Album: JinseixBoku=

Year: 2013

Yeah, the title. I know. I was soooooo hesitant to listen to this at first after someone told me its meaning. But don’t be misled folks. Don’t be. It isn’t about what you think.  For some weird reason, number 69 has been widely used in rock music. In this song, it’s like Taka’s just reading lines. But those lines are about pursuing their dream as a rock band. BUT WAIT ‘TIL YOU HEAR THE CHORUS. Man, it’s so cool! I also like the brief solo parts (at 2:46) and the instrumental. You’ll love it. ❤

Link:

No official music video

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vQW7rPuk8A

12. No Scared

Album: Zankyo Reference

Year: 2011

Initially, I found this song too loud with all its screamos. But since this is the last song performed by OOR when they had their concert here in the Philippines, I’ve come to like it eventually. Listening to this will make you do the jumping and head banging. I’ve been wondering about the title. I think it’s just a slang way of actually saying ‘not scared’ that’s why it became ‘no scared’. Haha. 🙂

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qKW4lqj2cNU

English subs:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uWylMT3WyI

11. Deeper Deeper

Album: JinseixBoku=

Year: 2013

“Okay, this looks shady”, says me the first time I’ve seen this video. Of all their songs, this is the one that got me sooooo mind-blown after knowing its English translation. As the title suggests, it was really deep and inspiring. Truly, this is their most profound song to date for me. It talks about doing things one notch higher. It inspires us to not settle where we are and live up to our fullest potential. At the same time, it reminds us to live a life that someone will remember instead of focusing on earthly wealth. I especially like the part,

“We never, we never, we will not stop right here.”

It’s empowering.

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcBBNB5JTOQ

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaso19DF7bg

10. C.h.a.o.s.m.y.t.h.

Album: Zankyo Reference

Year: 2011

This song gives me a nostalgic feeling. Everybody’s growing up and growing old (because those 2 are technically different), different choice of career paths and all that. And of course, everybody moves on with their lives. Even though that’s the case, in this song, OOR reminds us that some things will never change, most especially the ones we treasure the most – may it be a person, friendship or memories, or simply anything that we hold dear to your heart – for they will always be with us.  They also left us with an inspirational quote which says,

“Dream as if you will live forever

And live as if you’ll die today”

According to Youtuber Simonpunk2012, each character of C.h.a.o.s.m.y.t.h. stands for the surname of a particular person to Taka. Taka wrote this song for these 9 people whom he considers as his friends. He hopes that they can always live with happiness.

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-xF2MAFw5s

English Translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PI8siqqoto

9. Clock Strikes

Album: JinseixBoku=

Year: 2013

I first heard this song on Channel V. And I was like, “Hey, this sounds familiar.” Then I learned that this was from OOR. So this is the second song I’ve ever heard from them. And since I cannot contain my happiness then, I shared this to my work mates, who were more into K-pop. Hahaha. 🙂 Taka’s voice here is extra nice particularly the part where he breaks in. Clock strikes tackles the concept of forever or eternity, and that should we wish to have forever, what will we have?

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YZlFdTIdzM

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_M5JAtTvePk

P.S. Translation provided by Youtuber robyn hsieh (second from the top comments)
makes more sense, well, for me.

8. Juvenile

Album: JinseixBoku=

Year: 2013

I really like the intro of this song and how Taka breaks in! 🙂 Since the title is Juvenile, I feel like this is addressed to the youth, encouraging them to pursue want they want and ignore what other people might say about them. Just like what it says in the lyrics,

“Don’t be shy whenever you want something,

What you waiting for?

Find your door”

I also like the part where Taka says “On your mark!” It’s as if he’s challenging people to level up their own races in life.

Link:

No official music video

English Translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHMIp3WWfsY

7. Keep IT real

Album: Keep IT Real [Mini-Album]

Year: 2006

This is special since this is the first song wherein I’ve heard Toru rap. ❤ ❤ ❤  I was so blown away the first time I’ve heard this. I really can’t believe he can do rap! And man, he’s so good at it! How I wish he would do more rapping in their future songs. And this goes back 10 years ago! And you could still see how young they were here! Look at Baby Taka! 🙂 Hahaha! And their hairstyles! I also like the meaning of this song which is about keeping it real, that you should not mind appearances or putting up a face. In the chorus, translation says,

“Keep it real, don’t be scared

So you become honest with your own feelings

For if there’s only honesty and instinct

We’re at our strongest”

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfCE2FambEQ

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiWtZ6vLlIs

6. Re:make

Album: Zankyo Reference

Year: 2011

I just love Taka’s energy and his random moves with his red mic in this video! The vibe of this song is so cool! Arrrgh, that delivery! 🙂  Anyhow, the way I understand this song, it’s about a couple trying to patch their relationship. But the guy’s already fed up with the girl so he doubts about being together again. In the end though, he asks himself if the problem lies in him. Something like that, I think. Haha!

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67m9E6uDgxs

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHdTHcVjJqM

5. Mighty Long Fall

Album: 35xxxv (Standard Edition)

Year: 2015

At first, I really didn’t like this song since it’s the theme song of the movie sequel, Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno. And I was like, “Oh no, The Beginning is way much better than this. Imma stick to The Beginning.” I was biased, haha. It really took me quite a while to like Mighty Long Fall. But then I realized as I hit the play button several times, “Hey, it’s also pretty awesome. I’d give this a chance.”

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UjZqcDYbvAE

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgNP77uKa5A

4. Nothing Helps

Album: JinseixBoku=

Year: 2013

Nothing Helps is about OOR’s journey as a band and how they seek inspiration from their fans.

“… It’s because of you we finally came this far.”

What made me like this song more is this super cool lyric video made by Youtuber RAiLFX Studio. They used some clips from OOR’s concert in Yokohama Arena. And just 4 months ago, Amuse Inc. Asia (OOR’s agency) just shared this video. Wait for the awesome part at 3:55. So cool! And Toru’s high kick! Hahaha! 🙂

Link:

Not official but super wonderfully made video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9tWFGUIh4c

3. Heartache

Album: 35xxxv (Standard Edition)

Year: 2015

This is my most favorite slow song from OOR. Heartache is just so painful, at the same time, beautiful. This song was also used for the movie, Rurouni Kenshin : The Legend Ends (third film). The studio jam session version is much better than the one in the album. Hearing this song live last January was sooooooooo magical that I was about to cry from all it made me feel ❤ . It tells about moving on from a heart break. #Hugot. The first few lines simply stings,

“So they say that time, takes away the pain

But I’m still the same

And they say that I, will find another you

But that can’t be true”

Huhuhu. Tissue please. 😦

Links:

Studio Jam Session:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9v8aNl6Aps

English Translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkBzwxhJ5uk

 

2. Liar

Album: Niche Syndrome

Year: 2010

Okay, so this song is really a favorite. I can’t stop banging my head (and I’m pretty sure you will too) when I hear this song and I also try to imitate the awesome drumming pattern in the chorus. Tomoya really nailed this song! Of course, Taka as well. And Toru. And Ryota. Hahaha. All of them. 🙂 The title says it all, it’s about a liar. Or if we are to dig deep to it and relate it to psychiatry, it might pertain to a voice inside your head.  Hahaha, that’s just me complicating things. Basically, this is the kind of song that I really look for from rock bands, of which I can only rarely hear nowadays. This song is really a gem, and it never gets old.

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAHvDE9FFAE

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YwK1Y3IdaQ

1. The Beginning

Album: JinseixBoku=

Year: 2013

And first spot goes to this song – The Beginning. This is the theme song of Rurouni Kenshin (first film). In 2013, I remember hearing this at the credits of the movie and I was like, “This sounds nice. Who even sang this song?” And the rest was history. 🙂 The Beginning is the very song that led me to the awesome OOR. It’s as if The Beginning also became ‘the beginning’ of their popularity that cuts across countries. This song is about not giving up on the one you love. Seeing this video on Youtube for the first time, it only had 12M views. Now it’s at 60M+ views. I couldn’t be any prouder!  🙂 If you liked this song, you have to hear its studio jam session version since it’s also great! Taka’s voice is just so powerful you can see his neck veins coming out, hahaha. 🙂

Links:

Official music video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hh9yZWeTmVM

P.S. At 0:41 reminds me of AOT for some weird reason, haha. 🙂

English translation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxIhxmqgT74

Studio Jam Session:

https://vimeo.com/82494666

And just so you can fathom how popular they are in Japan, take a look at their Mighty Long Fall Concert at Yokohama Stadium. You wouldn’t see the Japanese audience raising their phones, they simply know how to enjoy the moment. 🙂

So, what do you think? 🙂

You may probably ask yourself, “Where have this band been all these years?”  I know. That was also my initial reaction then. Or the other way around, if you don’t like their sound, simple, just drop it. But then again, you are missing out A LOT if you don’t give their music a second chance.

Going back to their old songs and listening to their recent ones, I have been a witness of how much they have evolved. And seeing how much they’ve grown makes me so proud. I’m pretty sure they’ll go a long way. 🙂 I just hope they’ll keep their own style of rock. Their recent album, 35 XXXV Deluxe Edition, which has all the songs in English since this is their first album to be recorded in US, was generally okay, but I’d still prefer them singing in Japanese and have some few phrases in English. That’s why they also had this Standard Edition which contained songs sung in Japanese, their usual style. I just hope that they won’t get too ‘americanized’ even though they’re entering the music industry in a global scale.  Since they have producer John Feldmann with them, they’ve become the opening act of American bands All Time Low and Sleeping with Sirens. As a now selfless fan, I’m happy that a lot of people are starting to notice them.

I think they are now doing European Tour as of this month.  Last January 19, 2016, for the first time ever, One Ok Rock had their concert here in the Philippines at SM MOA Arena. 🙂

And with that, the next entry would be about my personal OOR concert experience. So stay tuned! 🙂

P.S. Let me know what you think on this list. And if you happen to genuinely like OOR by reading this entry, I would be very happy to know. I would gladly exchange my OOR thoughts with you. 🙂

 

20 thoughts on “25 Best Songs of ONE OK ROCK

  1. Juju! I love how much you love this band. It’s nice that the music a favorite band creates has been through our ups and downs. I’m glad that that’s One OK Rock for you. I can feeeeel how much you love them – you’re like their number 1 fan! If any One OK Rock member reads this, please take my friend to Japan and let her go to your concerts, front-stage!!! 🙂

    I enjoyed listening to you when you first talked to me about them on our ride back to Manila from home. 🙂

    Pinakinggan ko favorite song mo from them all, now I’ve got the lyrics and melody in my head and got me singing along: “Just give me a reason, to get my heart beating~” Haha! Tama ba lyrics, Juju? D:

    Go spread the love for your favorite time of the day, Julie! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww, thank you, Li! 🙂

      Yeah, I remember that day! Sobrang hyper ko, haha! 🙂 I will cry in tears if an OOR member gets to read this, haha! 🙂 But I’m just so proud of them that they’ve come this far. ❤

      Close enough. 🙂 Lyrics says, "Just give me a reason, to keep my heart beating."

      Yes, I shall. Thank you as always, Li! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha yes! Contagious yung joy mo nun. 🙂 I remember the little details you told me too, as well as that photo of Taka.

        Go, Julie! I hope you definitely will be able to go visit Japan someday and see them perform there. 🙂 You’re welcome, Julie! Thank you sa pag-correct ng lyrics. Haha!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello,i just want to say that you summarized all of my feelings in this post . I FREAKING LOVE OOR. And like you i’m single fan here among my friends.. TT Sad huh? BTW Its good to know there is someone that love OOR as much I do. Actually one song that kept me hooked on with OOR actually wherever you are. Then i watched they concert in Yokohama stadium. MAJOR LOVE. the music especially the lyrics. Deep. Now i’m here non stop listening to them. Lets be fans forever.. Hehehehehe

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello, Yume! 🙂 Thank you for leaving a comment! I was so happy to hear your thoughts! I so love OOR and seeing how much they’ve grown makes me so proud as a fan! 🙂 Yay! High 5! No longer alone! 🙂 As for me, I love their Heartache song, but all of their songs have a special place in my heart. ❤ Really? Yokohama stadium? So am I right to assume that you're a Japanese? I also watched their concert here in the Philippines and they were so amazing! 🙂 They are the kind of band that you won't regret seeing for their live concert. They didn't disappoint! 🙂 So what do you think of their new songs Taking Off and Bedroom Warfare? 🙂

      Like

      • Wow wasn’t expecting reply from u but thank you for the reply.And high 5 ! Hahaha actually i did not literally watched their concert in japan (I WISH I WAS THERE ❤ ) but through YouTube. And i'm Malaysian actually heeee. Wow u went to their concert. Lucky you. OOR have only been here once in 2013 and i didn't even know their exist that time 😦 And i've checked their schedule for their upcoming tour sadly Malaysia not in the list again 😦 About their new songs i prefer Taking Off rather than Bedroom Warfare. But i think i miss their Japanese Rock sound in their music u know. I think its true what other fans said their sound more Americanized now. But i still love them hahaha. I hope this upcoming album Ambitions we can hear maybe both sound in it. Who know right?

        Liked by 1 person

      • No problem! 🙂 Also watched it but only some parts of it though. Thought you were a Japanese. Haha! Is Yume your real name!? Mine is Julie, Juls for short. Hello from the Philippines! 🙂 Yeah, don’t miss their concert if ever they’ll have one there. It’s really woooooooorth it! 🙂 Me too, Taking Off >> Bedroom Warfare. I also miss their punk music, but yeah I still love them no matter what. Let’s just continue to support them. 🙂

        Like

      • Well yume is just nickname. My name is Indah. Malaysia and Philippines well we are neighbor 🙂 . You should finish watching their concert in Yokohama it really awesome <3. Taka sounds really good singing live. Sometimes i think their are better in live than CD. Hahahahaha 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hi, Indah! Yes, I shall one day. 🙂 And yes to that, he sounds better live. 🙂 Stay tuned for my blog entry about their concert here in the Philippines. 🙂 Til then! ❤

        Like

  3. I just have find this site and I’m glad I did.♥ OOR are going to be at my country so I wanted to actualize myself with their songs♥♥♥. I’m so excited ( ~ o ~ )!!!! sadly nost people don’t know them. C.h.a.o.s.m.y.t.h. was my “begining” ♥ that song is just too much.. ( T u T )/
    PD: Pardon my english haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, it’s nice to know that there’s someone out here have a same thought with me about them (oor).
    I’m really falling in love with their songs. Mostly all of them.
    And then I’m finally love the people. They ‘re so passionate about music and always care with everything around them.
    Oh God, seriously I’m falling deep in love with One Ok Rock

    Like

Leave a Reply

